Image

Today I’m in Vermont, visiting my dear friend Rebecca. She’s a ski and snowboard instructor. I’ve done a little boarding in my past, and am not that comfortable doing it thse days. In fact, it freaks me out, so I’m surprised that I told her I’d be out to board. I agonized over the decision I had made, but went ahead and collected my gear. As I tried out my boots, I was reminded of my poor baby toe that a cow had stepped on before Thanksgiving that still hurts. A perfect excuse, I thought. But they really didn’t hurt too much, so I went. And here I am and I’m having a wonderful time. I did quite well on the bunny hill.

My lesson: to feel my fear and do it anyway, despite possibility of failure. A gentile reminder to not get so comfortable in your space that it stops you from  growth.

